POULTRY REVIEW SUBMISSION

Last chance to make a submission to free hens from battery cages once and for all.

 

To the Australian Animal Welfare Standards and Guidelines review,

I write to ask that the Animal Welfare Standards and Guidelines for Poultry be amended to include a nationwide ban of battery cages and cruel farming practices including but not limited to debeaking, forced moulting, and food and water deprivation.  It is unacceptable that these animals have been condemned to a life of cruelty and exploitation just for the production of cheap eggs.  

The Australian public refuses to allow these cruelties to continue and it is time that the standards reflect that.  

Good animal welfare is a combination of physical and mental wellbeing and natural living. None of these are currently being granted to egg-laying hens. They need space to move, nest and behave naturally. 

So I ask you, please join the ACT, Europe, the United Kingdom, New Zealand and Canada in banning the battery cage, debeaking and other cruel farming methods and help improve the lives of millions of hens all around Australia.

Kind regards,

 

Who's signing

Hilary Bell
Roslyn Diffey
Meredith Cohen
Ian Debenham Oam
Merren Davies
Eva Robey
Philippa Bolton
Jennifer Jenkins-Flint
Rob Vail
Esther Muller
Pat Shenton
Rhonda Davies
Sean Fitzgerald
Quentin Dresser
Garry Sutton
Katrina Stomann
Mandy Nordstrom
Anne Plummer
Craig Amos
Keelah Lam
Dawn Aronie
Lesley Laing
Gillian McElroy
Sally Chapman
Eve McWilliams
Giselle Collins
Jill Overmyer
Catherine Bromley
Les Burrows
714 SIGNATURES
500

Will you sign?


Showing 574 reactions

  • Hilary Bell
    signed 2018-01-19 11:10:42 +1100
  • Roslyn Diffey
    signed 2018-01-19 11:07:52 +1100
  • Meredith Cohen
    signed 2018-01-19 11:05:03 +1100
  • Ian Debenham Oam
    signed 2018-01-19 10:58:43 +1100
  • Merren Davies
    signed 2018-01-19 10:52:53 +1100
    Merren Davies
  • Eva Robey
    signed 2018-01-19 10:52:27 +1100
  • Philippa Bolton
    signed 2018-01-19 10:45:32 +1100
  • Jennifer Jenkins-Flint
    signed 2018-01-19 10:37:05 +1100
    Jennifer Jenkins-Flint
  • Rob Vail
    signed 2018-01-19 10:26:01 +1100
    Rob Vail
  • Esther Muller
    signed 2018-01-19 10:22:05 +1100
    Battery cages are medieval and should be relegated to history.
  • Pat Shenton
    signed 2018-01-19 09:44:02 +1100
  • Rhonda Davies
    signed 2018-01-19 09:40:17 +1100
    I will not buy or use eggs if I find they are from battery hens
  • Sean Fitzgerald
    signed 2018-01-19 09:39:09 +1100
    Please end the use of battery cages and other cruel farming practices. While you are at it please revisit the ridiculous definition of ‘free range’ and change it to the one recommended by the RSPCA.
  • Quentin Dresser
    signed 2018-01-19 09:35:45 +1100
    It is overdue to show compassion to animals. Quentin Dresser
  • Garry Sutton
    signed 2018-01-19 09:22:41 +1100
  • Katrina Stomann
    signed 2018-01-19 09:09:47 +1100
    Animals do not need to suffer like this. There are better ways to manage our farms. We can afford to lift our game and pay a fair price for our food. We are better than this.
  • Mandy Nordstrom
    signed 2018-01-19 08:55:32 +1100
  • Anne Plummer
    signed 2018-01-19 08:35:43 +1100
  • Craig Amos
    signed 2018-01-19 08:32:22 +1100
  • Keelah Lam
    signed 2018-01-19 08:24:33 +1100
    Permaculture methods, work with nature. Factory farming, monoculture farming out.
  • Dawn Aronie
    signed 2018-01-19 08:18:40 +1100
  • Lesley Laing
    signed via 2018-01-19 08:13:43 +1100
  • Gillian McElroy
    signed 2018-01-19 07:28:14 +1100
  • Sally Chapman
    posted about this on Facebook 2018-01-19 05:22:40 +1100
    Have Your Say: Make a Poultry Review Submission
  • Sally Chapman
    signed 2018-01-19 05:22:08 +1100
  • Eve McWilliams
    signed 2018-01-19 03:12:17 +1100
    Animals have a right to live their lives free of cruelty, fear and terror. We are denying them that right by our barbaric factory farming practices
  • Giselle Collins
    signed 2018-01-19 01:44:36 +1100
    The standards for “free range”, should also be looked at and a regulatory body should be consistently inspecting premises for compliance which should be (like restaurant standards) an open register.
  • Jill Overmyer
    signed 2018-01-18 23:56:26 +1100
    These cruel practices must be stopped.
  • Catherine Bromley
    signed 2018-01-18 23:24:43 +1100
    Please stop cruel farming practices. Animals provide so much to us we should at least treat them with decency and care.
  • Les Burrows
    signed 2018-01-18 23:17:27 +1100