Public housing review

The NSW Government has asked the Independent Pricing and Review Tribunal of NSW to undertake an independent review of social and affordable housing rent models.

They are calling for submissions on a review of how rents are set for social and affordable housing tenants in NSW.

IPART’s recommendations will be provided to the NSW Government in June 2017. They are accepting submissions to the Issues Paper until 16 December 2016.

IPART are looking at:

- The affordability of rent

- How easy it is to understand how rent is set

- How much flexibility and choice tenants have

- The incentives for tenants to find paid work

- The equity of the system – eg, will households in similar circumstances receive equal assistance

- The efficiency of the system – eg, will it better meet the needs of the community and tenants, and deliver appropriate assistance to those who need it?

- The financial sustainability of the system.

- You can read the full terms of the investigation here.

Let the government know the arrangements for public housing tenants need to be fair by signing our submission to the Tribunal here.

We won't give your name to the government or to anyone else. If you don't want your name shown on this page, tick the box that says 'don't publish this on the website'.

Re: Review of Social and Affordable Housing Rent Models

Dear Chair,

I am writing to express my strong view against any increases in rent or increases to financial contributions from public housing tenants. Public housing tenants are already on low incomes, and any additional costs will only increase the hardship faced by many.

I ask you to consider this submission when making your decision about the levels of rent paid by public housing tenants. Government should be investing in public housing to ensure that properties are well repaired and that there is more housing available so that people in need can receive help.

Yours sincerely,

Who's signing

Warren Allsopp
Andrew Brittain
James Dhizaala
Shane Campbell
Sona Derakhti
Elisabeth Feher
John Dunn
Van Allen
Janet Crennan
Andrew Hyndman
Lois Katz
Andrew Lennox
Brian Tapper
Gregory Altreuter
Carolyn Ienna
Ernest McPherson
Isabel Hanson
Sylvia Sagi
Paulette West
Douglas Kidson
Jody Irwin
35
100 signatures

Will you sign?


Showing 22 reactions

  • Warren Allsopp
    signed 2018-04-04 13:01:59 +1000
  • Andrew Brittain
    signed 2017-03-07 10:55:07 +1100
    Public housing tenants are already on low incomes, and any additional costs will only increase the hardship faced by many.
  • James Dhizaala
    signed 2017-02-16 11:10:13 +1100
    There should not be any increased costs for tenants.
  • Shane Campbell
    signed 2017-01-12 18:09:58 +1100
  • Sona Derakhti
    signed 2016-12-28 18:47:34 +1100
  • Elisabeth Feher
    signed 2016-12-27 14:57:20 +1100
    ERZSEBET Feher, My house is in a complete disrapair, due to neglected maintenance. Half of the house got no electricity. I think I should actually get a discount, not a raise
  • John Dunn
    signed 2016-12-22 13:21:18 +1100
  • Van Allen
    signed 2016-12-22 13:03:36 +1100
  • Gemma Pitcher
    published this page in Petitions 2016-12-22 11:12:27 +1100
  • Janet Crennan
    signed 2016-12-20 13:13:05 +1100
  • Andrew Hyndman
    signed 2016-12-17 12:20:56 +1100
  • Lois Katz
    signed 2016-12-14 20:33:57 +1100
  • Andrew Lennox
    signed 2016-12-14 15:40:53 +1100
  • Brian Tapper
    signed 2016-12-14 00:50:19 +1100
    We naturally feel very insecure with any LNP government living as we do in an upmarket suburb, constantly expecting to have our place sold for profit and us moved forcibly to the far West.

    Any reassurance as to our permanency of residence will ensure our vote.

    Some think we have it good however on the full range human needs it is still very difficult living on a pension.
  • Gregory Altreuter
    signed 2016-12-13 09:51:50 +1100
  • Carolyn Ienna
    signed 2016-12-12 22:47:33 +1100
    I think the rents should not go up. Its difficult enough as it is to afford food, electricity and essentials. I have not been able to afford to set up a home business as the rent costs too much and i cant go out to work because of my disability. I do not see that the housing situation is getting better for anyone. They are moving people out of sites and not building new housing stock. Too many people are on the wait list for many years. As Housing NSW is not doing much in the way of repairs and letting many estates fall into disrepair i feel this is criminal. I have had to take Housing NSW to the tribunal to get essential repairs done and i will have to do it again. Very disappointed. I see too many homeless people living across the road from me and they need to be housed
  • Ernest McPherson
    signed 2016-12-12 20:37:39 +1100
  • Isabel Hanson
    signed 2016-12-12 17:07:00 +1100
  • Sylvia Sagi
    signed 2016-12-12 15:00:59 +1100
  • Paulette West
    signed 2016-12-12 14:20:57 +1100
  • Douglas Kidson
    signed 2016-12-12 14:06:35 +1100
  • Jody Irwin
    signed 2016-12-12 13:17:07 +1100